Applicants sought for ISBA Board of Governors vacancy

Iowa State Bar Association (ISBA) members from the Sixth Judicial District currently have five representatives on the ISBA board of governors (BOG):  Erin Nathan, Caitlin Slessor and Mark Parmenter (Linn County); Melvin Shaw (Johnson County); and Robert Fischer (Benton County). According to the ISBA, Parmenter and Fischer’s term of office on the BOG end in June and due to term limits, neither are eligible to serve another term.  Per past practice in District 6, Parmenter’s successor on the board of governors will need to be an ISBA member from Linn County.  The BOG position now held by Robert Fischer will rotate to an ISBA member from Jones County.  The ISBA will conduct an election for two District 6 bar members, one from Linn County and one from Jones County, to serve on the ISBA Board of Governors for a four-year term.

  1.  To serve as a board member of the ISBA, an attorney or judge must be a member in good standing in the ISBA.
  2. The Bar members elected to serve on the BOG will be expected to attend approximately four ISBA BOG meetings each year.  The first meeting, yet to be scheduled, will be sometime this summer and probably will be conducted by conference call. The second meeting is tentatively scheduled for September in Ft. Dodge.  The third meeting is scheduled to be held in Des Moines in December.
  3. Travel and lodging expenses are the responsibility of the individual governor and are not reimbursed by the ISBA.   Click here for general information regarding the expectations and an overview of responsibilities of BOG members. ISBA members Kate Kohorst or Deb Petersen would be good resources should you have questions about what it is like to serve on the BOG.
  4. Any ISBA member from Linn County and Jones County interested in serving on the BOG is encouraged to notify ISBA Executive Director Dwight Dinkla,  by email by Friday, April 24 at
  5. After April 24, and provided there is a contested election, the ISBA secretary’s office will prepare an electronic ballot listing the candidates and send it to ISBA members in Linn County and Jones County. The candidate with the most votes on each ballot will be eligible to serve one 4 year term on the BOG.
  6. After the ballots are cast electronically and tabulated, the ISBA will announce the name of the new Governor from Linn County and the name of the new Governor from Jones County.  The number of actual votes cast for each of the candidates will not be published.

      If ISBA members from Linn County and Jones County are interested in serving as a member of the Board of Governors for The Iowa State Bar Association and to have your name on the  ballot, you are encouraged to notify  Executive Director Dwight Dinkla by emailing him at by April 24, 2020. If you would like to include a very brief bio limited to a description of your current law practice, memberships in professional and non-profit associations/organizations, involvement in bar association activities (i.e., sections, committees, task forces, etc.) and Supreme Court Committees, Commissions, etc., we may include all or part of that information on the election ballot.