Judicial Magistrate Appointing Commission seeks applicants; Deadline extended to Jan. 9










                      The deadline for submitting written nomination petitions for two (2) County Magistrate Appointing Commissioners  whose terms will run from January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2014 has been extended until January 9, 2009.  Only qualified attorneys within Linn County can be nominated and serve in these positions. The current attorney Commissioners are James Sines and John Ehrhart. Following nominations, an election will be held.  Ballots will be sent to all Linn County attorneys who have been certified as eligible to vote by the Supreme Court.


                      Written nomination petitions may be delivered to the Clerk of District Court in Linn County or may be mailed to the following address:


Sharon K. Modracek

Clerk of District Court

Linn County Courthouse

P.O. Box 1468

Cedar Rapids, IA 52406-1468


                      The deadline for submitting written nomination petitions either in person or for receipt of petitions delivered by mail is 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2009.