LCBA Nominating Commission chooses slate of nominees for 2020-2021 Board

The Linn County Bar Association’s Nominating Committee has selected a slate of nominees to be placed on the ballot for election at the Annual Meeting, which is normally held on the third Thursday of June (June 18, 2020).  Due to COVID-19, an in-person meeting is tentative.  Details will be sent at a later date for how the election is to be conducted in the event an in-person meeting is canceled.

The slate of nominees are:

President-Elect (term of presidency 2021-2022):  

          Laura Hyer, Bradley & Riley, PC

Treasurer (two year term 2020-2022):

          Erin Grabe, Hills Bank and Trust Company

Board of Governors (three year term 2019-2022):

          Lisa Gavin, Iowa Legal Aid
          Shannon Powers, Lederer Weston Craig, PLC
          Holly Corkery, Lynch Dallas, P.C. (completion of year three of three year term for Laura Hyer)

Current President-Elect Megan Merritt, Shuttleworth & Ingersoll, P.L.C.,  will become President at the Annual Meeting.

In addition to the names submitted by the Nominating Committee, any member of the Association may have his or her name placed upon the ballot for a position by submitting to the LCBA a petition with at least 10 LCBA members’ signatures.  Nomination petitions shall be submitted to LCBA Past-President Amy Reasner ( at least four weeks prior to the June 18 Annual Meeting date.   Members will vote on and elect the officers and governors for the open positions at the Annual Meeting.