“Tailwind Training” Bike Rides a Success

The  four inaugural  LCBA “Tailwind Training” bike rides, held every other Wednesday  from May 16 to June  27, were a rousing success, with the rides attracting more than 30 LCBA members, and in some cases their spouses, children and significant others!

In addition to  putting miles on their legs in preparation for the Summer Outing bike ride and/or RAGBRAI, riders enjoyed camraderie with colleagues from all across the practice spectrum.     Many  members  suggested the rides continue post-Outing as well, which the LCBA will consider.   Any suggestions regarding this can be directed to Stephanie Hinz.

Next “Tailwind Training” Bike Ride June 27

The next LCBA “Tailwind Training” bike ride will be held Wednesday, June  27 starting at 5:30 p.m.   at GREENE SQUARE PARK in downtown Cedar Rapids.     The ride will be approximately 15 miles and have sag wagon support.

Click here for the route. (Note: Route is  designed for west wind; route may be changed if wind direction changes prior to ride.)

All members, as well as their friends and family members,  are invited to join the ride.   It is not required that you also sign up for the Summer Outing bike ride.   QUESTIONS? Contact Stephanie Hinz at shinz@pbalawfirm.com or phone 366-7621.

LCBA website additions: Linn County Clerk ph. #s, Title Standards, Board of Governors roster

Check out these new additions to the LCBA website:

Under the Courts menu: Linn County Clerk of Court Phone Numbers & Extensions

Under the Links menu: Linn County Title Standards  (large .pdf file)

From  the Board of Governors link: Roster and photos of 2007-2008 Linn County Bar Association officers and Board of Governors.

If there are items you would like us to add to the website, please let us know! Contact us at webmaster@linncobar.org.

New LCBA Officers, Board members elected

At the LCBA Annual Meeting held June 14, 2007,  Allison Heffern  assumed her role as LCBA President, taking over from Gene Kopecky.    


The following individuals were elected to positions on the LCBA Board of Governors:

Scott E. McLeod
Lynch Dallas P.C.
526 – 2nd Avenue SE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52406
Phone: (319) 365-9101
Fax: (319) 365-9512
E-Mail: smcleod@lynchdallas.com  

Stephanie Hinz
Pickens, Barnes & Abernathy
Tenth Floor American Building
101 2nd St. SE
P. O. Box 74170
Cedar Rapids, IA 52407-4170
Phone: (319) 366-7621
Fax: (319) 366-3158
E-Mail: shinz@pbalawfirm.com
Laura C. Mueller  (term thru 2008)
Bradley & Riley, PC
2007 First Avenue SE
P. O. Box 2804
Cedar Rapids, IA 52406-2804
Phone: (319) 363-0101
Fax: (319) 363-9824
E-Mail: lmueller@bradleyriley.com

Mary Chicchelly   (term thru 2010)
Seidl & Chicchelly
229 Northland Court Ne, Suite B
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52402
Phone: (319) 377-9770
Fax: (319) 377-5671
E-Mail: mchicchelly@sandclawfirm.com

Darin H. Luneckas  (term thru 2010)
Luneckas & Newhouse, P.C.
3717 Center Point Rd. NE, Suite 100
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Phone: (319) 294-8777
Fax: (319) 294-8775
E-Mail: dluneckas@qwest.net

LCBA Annual Meeting Thurs., June 14

The Annual Meeting of the Linn County Bar Association will be held on Thursday, June 14, 2007, beginning at Noon, at the Cedar Rapids Museum of Art on Third Avenue SE across from Greene Square Park.   The meeting room is located on the third floor. Parking is available behind the building on the Second Avenue side.     This month’s speaker will be Iowa State Senator Rob Hogg of Elderkin & Pirnie, who will be providing a legislative update.   Lunch will be provided by Hy-Vee.

 ALSO at this meeting, elections will be held  for open LCBA officer and Board of Governor positions.   The following slate of nominees has been submitted by the Nominating Committee of the LCBA as follows:  

President-elect:               Scott McLeod (to be president 2008-09)

Secretary:                                 Stephanie Hinz   (term expiring 2009)

Board of Governors:   Darin Luneckas (term expiring 2010)

                                                                        Mary Chicchelly (term expiring 2010)

                                                                         Laura Mueller (term expiring 2008)

Current President-Elect Allison Heffern will become President at the Annual Meeting.

Linn Law Club election results!

Elections for the 2007-2008 Linn Law Club  Board were held June 1, 2007.   The new officers are:

President Caitlin Slessor
Johnston & Nathanson, P.L.C.
129 First Avenue SW
P.O. Box 74210
Cedar Rapids, IA 52407
Phone: (319) 366-1000
Fax: (319) 366-6973
E-Mail: cslessor@qwest.net
Vice President
Timothy Van Pelt
Simmons Perrine, PLC
115 Third St. SE, Suite 1200
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401-1266
Phone: (319) 366-7641
Fax: (319) 366-1917
Elizabeth Deegan
Ackley, Kopecky & Kingery
4056 Glass Rd. NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Phone: (319) 393-9090
Fax: (319) 393-9012
E-Mail: edeegan@akklaw.com
Brian Farrell
Attorney at Law
1329 Elmhurst Dr. NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Phone: (319) 521-6862
E-Mail: bfarrell@iowabar.org

Thanks to outgoing officers Natalie Ditmars (president), Anna Rybicki (Vice-President), Caitlin Stoner  (Secretary), and Andrew Hosmanek (Treasurer) for their terrific leadership of the Club  during the 2006-2007 term!

Rainy day for LCBA @ the Kernels

The LCBA’s day at the ballpark for a June 1 noon game between the Cedar Rapids Kernels and Peoria Chiefs did not go as planned.   Intermittent rain showers resulted in a delayed game start time of 3:45,  which was after the majority of the 15 or so LCBA members who hardily showed up earlier for the game had left. However, about that same number of members made it out to the ballpark  to enjoy what ended up being a sunny, late day game.

The LCBA Board will discuss whether to try another  LCBA-Day-At-The-Ballpark for  a noon game later this summer.   Please contact your LCBA Board at webmaster@linncobar.org if you have any thoughts on this matter.

2007-08 Board Nominees; Election at 6/14 LCBA Mtg.

The Nominating Committee of the Linn County Bar Association has selected the following slate of nominees to be placed on the ballot for election at the Annual Meeting on June 14, 2007:

President-elect:               Scott McLeod (to be president 2008-09)
Secretary:                               Stephanie Hinz   (term expiring 2009)

Board of Governors:   Darin Luneckas and Mary Chicchelly   (term expiring 2010); Laura Mueller (term expiring 2008; completing Scott McLeod’s term as Governor)

Current President-Elect Allison Heffern will become President at the June 14 Annual Meeting.

In addition to the names submitted by the Nominating Committee, any member of the Association may have his or her name placed upon the ballot for a position by submitting to the LCBA a petition with at least 10 LCBA members’ signatures.   Nomination petitions shall be submitted to LCBA President Gene Kopecky (gkopecky@akklaw.com) at least four weeks prior to the June 14 Annual Meeting (by Thursday, May 17, 2007).   Members will vote on and elect the officers and governors for the open positions at the Annual Meeting.