LCBA Annual Meeting Thurs., June 14

The Annual Meeting of the Linn County Bar Association will be held on Thursday, June 14, 2007, beginning at Noon, at the Cedar Rapids Museum of Art on Third Avenue SE across from Greene Square Park.   The meeting room is located on the third floor. Parking is available behind the building on the Second Avenue side.     This month’s speaker will be Iowa State Senator Rob Hogg of Elderkin & Pirnie, who will be providing a legislative update.   Lunch will be provided by Hy-Vee.

 ALSO at this meeting, elections will be held  for open LCBA officer and Board of Governor positions.   The following slate of nominees has been submitted by the Nominating Committee of the LCBA as follows:  

President-elect:               Scott McLeod (to be president 2008-09)

Secretary:                                 Stephanie Hinz   (term expiring 2009)

Board of Governors:   Darin Luneckas (term expiring 2010)

                                                                        Mary Chicchelly (term expiring 2010)

                                                                         Laura Mueller (term expiring 2008)

Current President-Elect Allison Heffern will become President at the Annual Meeting.

Linn Law Club election results!

Elections for the 2007-2008 Linn Law Club  Board were held June 1, 2007.   The new officers are:

President Caitlin Slessor
Johnston & Nathanson, P.L.C.
129 First Avenue SW
P.O. Box 74210
Cedar Rapids, IA 52407
Phone: (319) 366-1000
Fax: (319) 366-6973
Vice President
Timothy Van Pelt
Simmons Perrine, PLC
115 Third St. SE, Suite 1200
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401-1266
Phone: (319) 366-7641
Fax: (319) 366-1917
Elizabeth Deegan
Ackley, Kopecky & Kingery
4056 Glass Rd. NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Phone: (319) 393-9090
Fax: (319) 393-9012
Brian Farrell
Attorney at Law
1329 Elmhurst Dr. NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Phone: (319) 521-6862

Thanks to outgoing officers Natalie Ditmars (president), Anna Rybicki (Vice-President), Caitlin Stoner  (Secretary), and Andrew Hosmanek (Treasurer) for their terrific leadership of the Club  during the 2006-2007 term!

Rainy day for LCBA @ the Kernels

The LCBA’s day at the ballpark for a June 1 noon game between the Cedar Rapids Kernels and Peoria Chiefs did not go as planned.   Intermittent rain showers resulted in a delayed game start time of 3:45,  which was after the majority of the 15 or so LCBA members who hardily showed up earlier for the game had left. However, about that same number of members made it out to the ballpark  to enjoy what ended up being a sunny, late day game.

The LCBA Board will discuss whether to try another  LCBA-Day-At-The-Ballpark for  a noon game later this summer.   Please contact your LCBA Board at if you have any thoughts on this matter.

2007-08 Board Nominees; Election at 6/14 LCBA Mtg.

The Nominating Committee of the Linn County Bar Association has selected the following slate of nominees to be placed on the ballot for election at the Annual Meeting on June 14, 2007:

President-elect:               Scott McLeod (to be president 2008-09)
Secretary:                               Stephanie Hinz   (term expiring 2009)

Board of Governors:   Darin Luneckas and Mary Chicchelly   (term expiring 2010); Laura Mueller (term expiring 2008; completing Scott McLeod’s term as Governor)

Current President-Elect Allison Heffern will become President at the June 14 Annual Meeting.

In addition to the names submitted by the Nominating Committee, any member of the Association may have his or her name placed upon the ballot for a position by submitting to the LCBA a petition with at least 10 LCBA members’ signatures.   Nomination petitions shall be submitted to LCBA President Gene Kopecky ( at least four weeks prior to the June 14 Annual Meeting (by Thursday, May 17, 2007).   Members will vote on and elect the officers and governors for the open positions at the Annual Meeting.

LCBA 2007 Summer Outing & CLE July 12

Save the date! The LCBA Summer Outing will be held Thursday, July 12, 2007!

A free half-day CLE will be presented for all LCBA members in the morning, and biking and golf will be available in the afternoon, followed by supper at Hunter’s Ridge Golf Course. For details on registration and the itinerary, see the attached 2007 Summer Outing Flyer.

Members should have received their registration postcards via mail. If you did not, or would like more information, please contact Darin Luneckas at or at 294-8777.

For more information on the biking event, contact Stephanie Hinz at or 366-7621.

For more information on the golfing, contact Dave Thinnes at or 363-3185.